Suburban Driving School

CALL or TEXT us 24 hours a day (585) 388-1260 for all the information you will need to attend any of our classes.

Find an online prelicensing class! Find an online defensive driving class!

Contact us now with any questions!

Our Courses

Checkmark

Prelicensing Course

The 5 Hr. Prelicensing class is required by New York State before someone with a learner's permit can sign-up for a NYS road test.

Read more here!
Checkmark

Defensive Driving Course

This is our NYSDMV approved Improve Traffic School 6 hr. Accident Prevention Workshop, Point/Insurance Reduction Defensive Driving Class that will allow you to apply for a 10% discount on your vehicle insurance for the next 3 years. This course will also reduce up to 4 points from your driving record net total and improve your skills at accident prevention.

Read more here!
Checkmark

New York Safe Boating Course

For those who wish to operate a personal watercraft, motorboat or Jet-Ski, this 8 hour course is a comprehensive boating course, teaching the fundamentals of safe boating operation and has been approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators.

Read more here!

Why choose us?

Suburban Driving School has been in operation for over 28 years. We are unique in that we are a driving school, but do not give behind the wheel driving lessons. We specialize in classroom discussion and instruction. By not offering behind the wheel driving lessons, we can focus all of our expertise on classroom instruction. We are certified by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to offer the 5 hr. Pre-Licensing course, 6 hr. Insurance and Point Reduction Defensive Driving course and 8 hr. NYS Boating and Jet-Ski Safety Course.

What is Graduated Licensing?

Graduated Licensing is a system implemented on Sept 1, 2003 stating that those who receive their permit on or after February 22, 2010 must adhere to the following regulations:

  • Permit holders need 50 hours of supervised driving that includes 15 hours of driving after sunset before they can schedule a road test.
  • There is a minimum wait period of 6 months before a permit holder can schedule a road test.
  • No one other than the permit driver and the supervising driver may occupy the front seat. Also, all people in the car must wear seat belts.
  • A junior operator license driver cannot operate a vehicle that has more than one non-family passenger who is under the age of 21 unless a parent, guardian, or a driving instructor also rides in the vehicle.
  • New drivers have to be violation free for one year. A junior permit, license, or privileges will be revoked for 60 days if you are convicted of one serious traffic violation (following too closely, speeding, racing, reckless driving, driving under the influence, or if charged with an accident) or two other violations within the first six months after your permit. Note that the license or privileges are restored after a suspension or revocation.
See more on the New York State DMV website